The Change We Choose

Speeches 2007-2009

Author: Gordon Brown

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1780570570

Category: Political Science

Page: 304

View: 2103

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Change We Choose: Speeches 2007-2009 brings together the key speeches made by Gordon Brown during the first two and a half years of his premiership. It reflects how the values and beliefs that have defined his political career have shaped his response to what have been arguably some of the greatest challenges ever to have faced a new prime minister. The speeches in this book trace what will be seen by historians as an extraordinary era in British and international history. We can learn a lot about his premiership by looking at the Prime Minister's penetrating and insightful speeches in this period, as he sets out his thinking on domestic and foreign policy and responds to the events that have shaped his time in office. We also learn much about Gordon Brown, the man, from the insights of those who have kindly agreed to contribute introductions - and from the person who knows him best of all: his wife, Sarah, who introduced his party conference speeches.

Toy Manchester Terrier

A Comprehensive Owner's Guide

Author: Peter Brown

Publisher: i5 Publishing

ISBN: 1621870782

Category: Pets

Page: 158

View: 5615

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This diminutive terrier from Manchester, the Toy Manchester Terrier, known by British fanciers as the English Toy Terrier, is the focus of this Special Limited Edition, the only book of its kind about this elegant, compact breed. Although recognized by the American Kennel Club as well as the English Kennel Club, the Toy Manchester Terrier has a small but devoted following, a discriminating lot of dog lovers who know the charm and allure of this unique Toy breed. Agile and active, the Toy Manchester Terrier is an intelligent, personable dog, which makes limited demands on his owners.

The Athenæum

A Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music, and the Drama

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 7528

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Joe Public

Author: S J Smith

Publisher: Virtualbookworm Publishing

ISBN: 1589397681

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 6481

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A little bit of everything and a whole lot of nothing. Through parental guidance amounting to a dictatorial father with an unnerving fondness for the Nazis, and a beleaguered, out of touch mother who believes Emily Pankhurst and the Suffragettes are a 60's Motown combo...Joe's choices in life are nothing if not his own. So facing a world fraught with blinding confusion and fearful, unavoidable evolution, where can Joe go but forward? Sex, travel, education, siblings, crime, sex, illness, careers, and sex. It's all his to figure out via an ill balanced blend of ignorance and innocence. Joe's journey is a touching, exploratory novel of growing pains and personalised global positioning told with a firm grip on the handles of humour and relation. A fictionalised biography, "Joe Public" is S. J. Smith's first novel

Feminism and the Periodical Press, 1900-1918

Author: Lucy Delap,Maria DiCenzo,Leila Ryan

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9780415320269

Category: Feminism

Page: 1560

View: 6838

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Edwardian period experienced a particularly vibrant periodical culture, with phenomenal growth in the numbers of titles published that were either aimed specifically at women, or else saw women as a key section of their readership or contributor group. It was an era of political ferment in which a number of 'progressive' traditions were formulated, shaped or abandoned, including socialism, feminism, modernism, empire politics, trade unionism and welfarism. Organized around some of the central themes of political thought and utopian thinking, this impressive collection gathers together classic articles from key periodicals. The set presents a comprehensive sourcebook of readings on Edwardian/Progressive era feminist thought, exploring the intervention of the radical public intellectuals working in these traditions in North America and the UK from 1900-1918.

Feminist Ethics and the Politics of Love

Author: Feminist Review The Feminist Review

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 9780415184212

Category: Social Science

Page: 151

View: 3673

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ethics and love are examined in different situations: the contradictions of feminism in Imperial Japan, the role of women in miners' struggles in the UK; and the contemporary politics of abortion in Ireland.

Poetry

The Literary Agenda

Author: David Constantine

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 0191653756

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 3494

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Literary Agenda is a series of short polemical monographs about the importance of literature and of reading in the wider world and about the state of literary education inside schools and universities. The category of 'the literary' has always been contentious. What is clear, however, is how increasingly it is dismissed or is unrecognised as a way of thinking or an arena for thought. It is sceptically challenged from within, for example, by the sometimes rival claims of cultural history, contextualized explanation, or media studies. It is shaken from without by even greater pressures: by economic exigency and the severe social attitudes that can follow from it; by technological change that may leave the traditional forms of serious human communication looking merely antiquated. For just these reasons this is the right time for renewal, to start reinvigorated work into the meaning and value of literary reading. In this fascinating addition to the Literary Agenda series, David Constantine argues that poetry matters. It matters for individuals and for the society they are members of. He asserts that poetry is not for the few but for the many, and belongs and can only thrive among them, speaks of and to their concerns. Poetry considers both the writing and the reading of poetry, which Constantine views as kindred activities. He examines what goes into the writing of a poem and considers what good there is in reading it. Constantine also considers translation, arguing that great benefit comes to the native language from dealings with the foreign; also, that all reading is a form of translation - of texts into the lives we lead. Altogether, Poetry is an attempt, with many quotations, to show how poetry works, what its responsibilities are, and how it may help us in our real circumstances now.

Looking Back

She must choose between love and duty...

Author: Josephine Cox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755384482

Category: Fiction

Page: 230

View: 5634

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A story of love, sacrifice and a girl who has to grow up too fast... Looking Back is an emotional and touching saga of a young girl who must bear the weight of her family's future alone, from bestselling author Josephine Cox. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Dilly Court. From the moment she learns of the stranger's visit, Molly Tattersall is filled with a sense of fear. Then her mother disappears, leaving behind a letter asking Molly to take care of her five brothers and sisters. Molly's wayward father rejects his responsibilities, leaving Molly to choose between the young man she has given her heart to and the family she adores. It is the cruellest decision of her life, with long-reaching and heart-breaking consequences. Only one thing is certain: Molly's life will never be the same again. What readers are saying about Looking Back: 'A beautiful story... made me laugh, made me cry. Lovely book' 'Fantastic writer, she really reels the reader into the plot and the characters of the story' 'Five stars'

Day Book of Jeremiah Smith Jewett

Volume One January 1, 1854 – December 31, 1869

Author: Brenda M. Polidoro

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1469117363

Category: History

Page: 783

View: 5134

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Day Book of Jeremiah Smith Jewett Volume One January 1, 1854 December 31, 1869 Jeremiah Jewett s impact on NH history and the Lakes Region was unknown until the recent discovery of his numerous, daily, handwritten journals, painstakingly recorded from 1854 unti l 1900. His life in Warren and Lakeport/Laconia, NH found him wearing many hats: husband, father, preacher, lawyer, railroad surveyor, merchant,undertaker and gentleman farmer. His vivid descripti ons of his life over 46 years and travels around the country at World Industrial Fairs, Methodist religious gatherings and railway excursions in NH, New England and beyond, are embellished by his emoti onal, notable accounts of the death of Abraham Lincoln, unknown medical diseases of the era, and the tragic loss of a beloved son at age 19. Probably no one impacted the towns of Warren, Lakeport (Meredith Bridge) and Laconia, NH like Rev. Jeremiah S. Jewett . These volumes relate to his daily experiences in the latt er years of his life. Brenda M. Polidoro, editor, brings his history of NH to life, in his own words and style, penned in bound leather. The authenti c transcribed volumes are a riveti ng account of someti mes tragic and yet hopeful, positi ve ti mes as seen by one person at the turn of the century.

Enough

Author: Rachael Kirkham

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1496994620

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 8328

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Eve describes herself as a “high functioning fuck up.” She is navigating her way through life with mental health problems, which she doesn’t understand and definitely doesn’t like. This is the story of how Eve tries to live a normal and fulfilling life with her much-loved family and friends, all the time wondering whether her mental health is going to explode and cause her to lose everything that she holds dear to her.