Body Matters

Feminism, Textuality, Corporeality

Author: Avril Horner,Angela Keane

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN: 9780719054693

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 260

View: 9513

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Why do bodies matter? This collection of essays by feminists working in literary and cultural studies addresses this question from a range of theoretical perspectives. The collection includes essays by internationally-recognized critics who discuss curren

The Change We Choose

Speeches 2007-2009

Author: Gordon Brown

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1780570570

Category: Political Science

Page: 304

View: 2831

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Change We Choose: Speeches 2007-2009 brings together the key speeches made by Gordon Brown during the first two and a half years of his premiership. It reflects how the values and beliefs that have defined his political career have shaped his response to what have been arguably some of the greatest challenges ever to have faced a new prime minister. The speeches in this book trace what will be seen by historians as an extraordinary era in British and international history. We can learn a lot about his premiership by looking at the Prime Minister's penetrating and insightful speeches in this period, as he sets out his thinking on domestic and foreign policy and responds to the events that have shaped his time in office. We also learn much about Gordon Brown, the man, from the insights of those who have kindly agreed to contribute introductions - and from the person who knows him best of all: his wife, Sarah, who introduced his party conference speeches.

Der Verdacht des Mr Whicher

oder Der Mord von Road Hill House

Author: Kate Summerscale

Publisher: Piper Spannungsvoll

ISBN: 3492982239

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 6511

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In einer Sommernacht im Jahr 1860 geschieht ein Mord in einem herrschaftlichen Landhaus in Wiltshire. Die Leiche des dreijährigen Saville wird mit durchgeschnittener Kehle aufgefunden. Alle Hausbewohner stehen unter Schock, erst recht, als sich herausstellt, dass es einer von ihnen gewesen sein muss. Jack Whicher von Scotland Yard soll diesen Mordfall aufklären, doch was er herausfindet, versetzt die ganze Nation in Hysterie. Eine wahre Geschichte, die Generationen von Autoren wie Wilkie Collins, Charles Dickens und Arthur Conan Doyle inspirierte.

The Athenæum

A Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music, and the Drama

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8655

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Joe Public

Author: S J Smith

Publisher: Virtualbookworm Publishing

ISBN: 1589397681

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 2930

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A little bit of everything and a whole lot of nothing. Through parental guidance amounting to a dictatorial father with an unnerving fondness for the Nazis, and a beleaguered, out of touch mother who believes Emily Pankhurst and the Suffragettes are a 60's Motown combo...Joe's choices in life are nothing if not his own. So facing a world fraught with blinding confusion and fearful, unavoidable evolution, where can Joe go but forward? Sex, travel, education, siblings, crime, sex, illness, careers, and sex. It's all his to figure out via an ill balanced blend of ignorance and innocence. Joe's journey is a touching, exploratory novel of growing pains and personalised global positioning told with a firm grip on the handles of humour and relation. A fictionalised biography, "Joe Public" is S. J. Smith's first novel

Feminism and the Periodical Press, 1900-1918

Author: Lucy Delap,Maria DiCenzo,Leila Ryan

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9780415320269

Category: Feminism

Page: 1560

View: 3695

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Edwardian period experienced a particularly vibrant periodical culture, with phenomenal growth in the numbers of titles published that were either aimed specifically at women, or else saw women as a key section of their readership or contributor group. It was an era of political ferment in which a number of 'progressive' traditions were formulated, shaped or abandoned, including socialism, feminism, modernism, empire politics, trade unionism and welfarism. Organized around some of the central themes of political thought and utopian thinking, this impressive collection gathers together classic articles from key periodicals. The set presents a comprehensive sourcebook of readings on Edwardian/Progressive era feminist thought, exploring the intervention of the radical public intellectuals working in these traditions in North America and the UK from 1900-1918.

Expo 3 Rouge

Author: Clive Bell

Publisher: Heinemann

ISBN: 9780435385934

Category: French language

Page: 160

View: 8468

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Aimed at higher ability pupils, this file contains extra grammar sheets, end-of-module and end-of-year tests, and word lists which can be photocopied for pupils to help them learn key vocabularly. A CD-ROM contains Word files of all the worksheets to be customised to the teacher's needs.

Feminist Ethics and the Politics of Love

Author: Feminist Review The Feminist Review

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 9780415184212

Category: Social Science

Page: 151

View: 6711

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ethics and love are examined in different situations: the contradictions of feminism in Imperial Japan, the role of women in miners' struggles in the UK; and the contemporary politics of abortion in Ireland.

Poetry

The Literary Agenda

Author: David Constantine

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 0191653756

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 4307

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Literary Agenda is a series of short polemical monographs about the importance of literature and of reading in the wider world and about the state of literary education inside schools and universities. The category of 'the literary' has always been contentious. What is clear, however, is how increasingly it is dismissed or is unrecognised as a way of thinking or an arena for thought. It is sceptically challenged from within, for example, by the sometimes rival claims of cultural history, contextualized explanation, or media studies. It is shaken from without by even greater pressures: by economic exigency and the severe social attitudes that can follow from it; by technological change that may leave the traditional forms of serious human communication looking merely antiquated. For just these reasons this is the right time for renewal, to start reinvigorated work into the meaning and value of literary reading. In this fascinating addition to the Literary Agenda series, David Constantine argues that poetry matters. It matters for individuals and for the society they are members of. He asserts that poetry is not for the few but for the many, and belongs and can only thrive among them, speaks of and to their concerns. Poetry considers both the writing and the reading of poetry, which Constantine views as kindred activities. He examines what goes into the writing of a poem and considers what good there is in reading it. Constantine also considers translation, arguing that great benefit comes to the native language from dealings with the foreign; also, that all reading is a form of translation - of texts into the lives we lead. Altogether, Poetry is an attempt, with many quotations, to show how poetry works, what its responsibilities are, and how it may help us in our real circumstances now.

Looking Back

She must choose between love and duty...

Author: Josephine Cox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755384482

Category: Fiction

Page: 230

View: 4793

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A story of love, sacrifice and a girl who has to grow up too fast... Looking Back is an emotional and touching saga of a young girl who must bear the weight of her family's future alone, from bestselling author Josephine Cox. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Dilly Court. From the moment she learns of the stranger's visit, Molly Tattersall is filled with a sense of fear. Then her mother disappears, leaving behind a letter asking Molly to take care of her five brothers and sisters. Molly's wayward father rejects his responsibilities, leaving Molly to choose between the young man she has given her heart to and the family she adores. It is the cruellest decision of her life, with long-reaching and heart-breaking consequences. Only one thing is certain: Molly's life will never be the same again. What readers are saying about Looking Back: 'A beautiful story... made me laugh, made me cry. Lovely book' 'Fantastic writer, she really reels the reader into the plot and the characters of the story' 'Five stars'