The Christmas Story

Author: Anita Ganeri

Publisher: Evans Brothers

ISBN: 9780237524685

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 9792

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Exquisite watercolour illustrations breathe warmth and life into the story of the birth of Jesus in this new paperback original Christmas Story. Anita Ganeri retells the traditional biblical story with her usual sensitivity and gift for drawing children into the narrative. Words and music to the favourite Christmas carol 'Away in a Manger' as well as some special Christmas recipes that children will enjoy trying out are included. Gold blocking on the cover adds a Christmassy feel! An ideal Christmas gift for any child!

The Christmas Book

Christmas in the Olden Time, Its Customs and Their Origin : the Holly and Ivy, Sports of the Eve, Yule Log, Boar's Head, the Dinner, Mummers, Lord of Misrule, Saturnalia, Carols, Mysteries and Plays, Boxes, &c. &c

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Christmas

Page: 48

View: 7733

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Christmas Book - A Treasury of Festive Facts

Author: Patrick Harding

Publisher: John Blake Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 1786064235

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 300

View: 8763

DOWNLOAD NOW »

During the long, cold December weeks leading up to Christmas, as we spend our time frantically panicking about the financial side of the festive season, it's all too easy to forget the traditional nativity story. The real meaning of Christmas and the traditions that have existed for generations are shunted aside as we worry about how many shopping days we have left and how we're going to fit that monster turkey into the oven. In this charming book, Patrick Harding breathes new life into the traditions of Christmas, unravelling myths and mysteries surrounding our favourite time of year. The Christmas Book is a treasure chest of fascinating facts and tasty morsels, all in one delightful and handy volume. From setting the record straight about Jesus' birth, to explaining what a genuine Yule log is, to tracking the evolution of the Christmas card, there's something in here to entertain everyone, young and old alike. The fascinating read is guaranteed to add some much-needed spice to the festive season and will shake the Scrooge out of even the most cynical reader...

A Christmas Book

Origin of the Christmas Tree, the Mistletoe, the Yule Log & St. Nicholas

Author: Carla Wenckebach

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Christmas

Page: 34

View: 8736

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Christmas Books

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher: Wordsworth Editions

ISBN: 9781853262685

Category: Fiction

Page: 353

View: 9648

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Each of these short stories was written specifically for Christmas. They combine concern for social ills with the myths and memories of childhood and traditional Christmas spirit-lore. The stories include "A Christmas Carol," "The Chimes," "The Battle of Life" and "The Cricket on the Hearth."

The Christmas Books

A Christmas Carol, the Chimes, the Cricket On the Hearth

Author: Charles Dickens

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141963190

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 3400

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Dickens’s story of solitary miser Ebenezer Scrooge, who is taught the true meaning of Christmas by a series of ghostly visitors, has proved one of his most well-loved works. Ever since it was published in 1843 it has had an enduring influence on the way we think about the traditions of Christmas. Dickens’s other Christmas writings collected here include ‘The Story of the Goblins who Stole a Sexton’, the short story from The Pickwick Papers on which A Christmas Carol was based; along with shorter pieces drawn from the ‘Christmas Stories’ that Dickens wrote annually for his weekly journals. In all of them Dickens celebrates the season as one of geniality, charity and remembrance.

Inside the Christmas Story

Reflections for Advent

Author: Anthony Bash,Melanie Bash

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1441121471

Category: Religion

Page: 160

View: 1872

DOWNLOAD NOW »

If you are troubled by the loss of 'Christ' in 'Christmas'; and by the noise, pressure and materialism of secular Advent with its emphasis on material and commercial rather than spiritual preparation for Christmas, this book will help you to read and think about Advent and Christmas in a new way. Co-authored by a New Testament specialist and a practising clinical psychologist, it explores the familiar narratives from the Christmas story with freshness and vigour, and draws out their implications for day-to-day living. The Christmas story is full of themes that we often avoid in churches - asylum seekers and refugees; death; loss and suffering; old age; childlessness - but they can give a new depth and meaning to our Christmas celebrations. Christmas will not seem the same again.

The Origins of Christmas

Author: Joseph Francis Kelly

Publisher: Liturgical Press

ISBN: 9780814629840

Category: Religion

Page: 145

View: 8252

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When was Christmas first celebrated? How did the Bible's "magi from the East" become three kings named Melchior, Caspar, and Balthasar who rode camels from three different continents to worship the newborn Christ? These and many other questions are answered in "The Origins of Christmas," which covers a variety of topics in a concise and accessible style and is suitable for group discussions.Liturgical Press

The Christmas List

A Novel

Author: Richard Paul Evans

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781439154052

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 3127

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A heartwarming and inspirational Christmas novel in the tradition of The Christmas Box, Grace, The Gift, and Finding Noel. The New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Box and The Walk series returns with a holiday novel of hope, love, and redemption. Dear Reader, When I was in seventh grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Johnson, gave our class the intriguing (if somewhat macabre) assignment of writing our own obituaries. Oddly, I don't remember much of what I wrote about my life, but I do remember how I died: in first place on the final lap of the Daytona 500. At the time, I hadn't considered writing as an occupation, a field with a remarkably low on-the-job casualty rate. What intrigues me most about Mrs. Johnson's assignment is the opportunity she gave us to confront our own legacy. How do we want to be remembered? That question has motivated our species since the beginning of time: from building pyramids to putting our names on skyscrapers. As I began to write this book, I had two objectives: First, I wanted to explore what could happen if someone read their obituary before they died and saw, firsthand, what the world really thought of them. Their legacy. Second, I wanted to write a Christmas story of true redemption. One of my family's holiday traditions is to see a local production of Charles Dickens's A Christmas Carol. I don't know how many times I've seen it (perhaps a dozen), but it still thrills me to see the change that comes over Ebenezer Scrooge as he transforms from a dull, tight-fisted miser into a penitent, "giddy-as-aschoolboy" man with love in his heart. I always leave the show with a smile on my face and a resolve to be a better person. That's what I wanted to share with you, my dear readers, this Christmas -- a holiday tale to warm your season, your homes, and your hearts. Merry Christmas

The Christmas Book

Author: Susan Baker

Publisher: Putnam Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780448136127

Category: Christmas

Page: 48

View: 1831

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Contains Christmas songs, stories, games, recipes, poems, plays, and handicraft projects.

The Christmas Story

Author: Ian Beck

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 0552549371

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 345

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Retells the story of the birth of Jesus in Nazareth.

The Christmas book

a treasury of the sights, sounds, crafts, tastes & joys of the season

Author: Alvin Horton,Ortho Books

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780897210942

Category: Religion

Page: 191

View: 5163

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Discusses the traditional ways to celebrate Christmas and explains how to create a variety of Christmas decorations and gifts

The Christmas Book Of Mr. Titmarsh

Author: William Makepeace Thackeray

Publisher: Jazzybee Verlag

ISBN: 3849647463

Category: Fiction

Page: 198

View: 3454

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Christmas Classics" is proud to present you a carefully selected range of fiction and prose for the most beautiful time of the year. Besides best-known classics we also offer a huge variety of out-of-print books and titles long forgotten. You can spot them easily by the red book cover and the golden bells in the middle.

Monty, a Christmas Story

Author: Samuel L. Knight

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1449042570

Category:

Page: 44

View: 709

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Monty was born with ears too long. And with feet that were stubby and lame. But love knows no boundaries when a little girl and her father discover Basset hound pups One Christmas Eve. Sadly, little Andrea's father doesn't allow Monty to stay. And thus begins the journey for young Monty as he is sent from place to place, without a family, and longing for a home. If you believe in the true Spirit of Christmas, then Monty, A Christmas Story is the timeless tale that you will want to share with your family this special holiday season and every Christmas for generations to come. Bucks County, Pennsylvania author Samuel L. Knight and renowned Canadian illustrator Romi Caron have teamed up to bring you Monty, A Christmas Story. With its beautiful poetic verses and thirty-eight original water color paintings, every parent will want to make Monty, A Christmas Story a part of their child's holiday reading collection.

Moon and Star

A Christmas Story

Author: Robin Muller

Publisher: Scholastic Canada

ISBN: 9780545996303

Category: Christmas stories

Page: 32

View: 1285

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Robin Muller is best known as the Governor-General's Award-winning author and illustrator of The Magic Paintbrush, as well as Badger's New House, Mollie Whuppie and the Giant, Little Kay, Row, Row, Row Your Boat, and Little Wonder. He is also the author of Hickory, Dickory, Dock, illustrated by Suzanne Duranceau.

The Christmas Books of Mr M. A. Titmarsh

Author: William Makepeace Thackeray

Publisher: The Floating Press

ISBN: 1775419908

Category: Fiction

Page: 275

View: 9126

DOWNLOAD NOW »

During their lifetimes, Charles Dickens and William Makepeace Thackeray were engaged in a friendly competition of sorts to see who could gain the most stature and popularity as writers for the masses. Following in Dickens' footsteps, Thackeray began penning a series of heartwarming holiday-themed tales to be published in serial form, often under the pen name "Michael Angelo Titmarsh." Many of the most beloved tales from this series are collected in this volume.