The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 9781843179603

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 3065

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A comprehensive reading guide for book lovers, which makes the choosing of the next book that much easier. With recommended titles ranging from the classics to current bestsellers, as well as a few that may take you out of your comfort zone, you need look no further than The Book Lovers' Companion to make the perfect pick. Each report contains a succinct summary of the recommended title, as well as probing discussion points and fascinating background facts, together with suggestions on further reading Great as a gift for the enthusiastic book club member or for use as a personal guide to what's hot in the world of literature.

The Book Lovers' Companion

What to Read Next

Author: Various Authors

Publisher: Michael O'Mara Books

ISBN: 1782433643

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 334

View: 9845

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With so many fantastic books out there, it can often be difficult to choose what to read next. Thankfully, The Book Lovers' Companion - an updated and revised version of The Book Club Bible - is here to help: bringing together a huge range of the best and most loved titles in one comprehensive guide. Featuring a diverse selection of books to choose from, from Pride and Prejudice to the modern classics as well as the latest bestsellers, this guide includes interesting discussion points and facts that will be indispensable for book lovers as well as potential companion books with similar themes, honest opinions from readers and razor-sharp reviews from critics, so you'll know you're making the right choice every time. Compiled by a range of English literature experts and avid readers, and with a foreword by Lionel Shriver, author of We Need To Talk About Kevin, The Book Lovers' Companion is sure to inspire any book lover. You need never read a bad book again!

Dieses Leben, das wir haben

Roman

Author: Lionel Shriver

Publisher: Piper Verlag

ISBN: 3492952658

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 2385

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Den Alltagsärger hinter sich lassen, die Welt sehen, nachdenken – so hat sich Shepherd den Rest seines Lebens vorgestellt. Seine Frau Glynis kann ihm dabei nicht folgen – sie stellt ihn vor eine tragische Wahl. Nach ihrem mitreißenden Roman »Liebespaarungen« erzählt Lionel Shrivers neues Buch von den Wandlungen einer Ehe in schweren Zeiten. Und auch von dem Glück, das daraus entstehen kann.

Book Lust

Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason

Author: Nancy Pearl

Publisher: Sasquatch Books

ISBN: 1570616590

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 304

View: 693

DOWNLOAD NOW »

What to read next is every book lover's greatest dilemma. Nancy Pearl comes to the rescue with this wide-ranging and fun guide to the best reading new and old. Pearl, who inspired legions of litterateurs with "What If All (name the city) Read the Same Book," has devised reading lists that cater to every mood, occasion, and personality. These annotated lists cover such topics as mother-daughter relationships, science for nonscientists, mysteries of all stripes, African-American fiction from a female point of view, must-reads for kids, books on bicycling, "chick-lit," and many more. Pearl's enthusiasm and taste shine throughout.

I'd Rather Be Reading

The Delights and Dilemmas of the Reading Life

Author: Anne Bogel

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 149341531X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 160

View: 2246

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For so many people, reading isn't just a hobby or a way to pass the time--it's a lifestyle. Our books shape us, define us, enchant us, and even sometimes infuriate us. Our books are a part of who we are as people, and we can't imagine life without them. I'd Rather Be Reading is the perfect literary companion for everyone who feels that way. In this collection of charming and relatable reflections on the reading life, beloved blogger and author Anne Bogel leads readers to remember the book that first hooked them, the place where they first fell in love with reading, and all of the moments afterward that helped make them the reader they are today. Known as a reading tastemaker through her popular podcast What Should I Read Next?, Bogel invites book lovers into a community of like-minded people to discover new ways to approach literature, learn fascinating new things about books and publishing, and reflect on the role reading plays in their lives. The perfect gift for the bibliophile in everyone's life, I'd Rather Be Reading will command an honored place on the overstuffed bookshelves of any book lover.

1001 Bücher

die Sie lesen sollten, bevor das Leben vorbei ist

Author: Peter Boxall

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783283011567

Category:

Page: 960

View: 9599

DOWNLOAD NOW »

100 One-Night Reads

A Book Lover's Guide

Author: David C. Major,John S. Major

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN: 0307480895

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 336

View: 3717

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Readers everywhere know that nothing soothes the spirit like sinking into a really good book. If you're one of that happy band, you'll quickly recognize the authors of this inspired reading guide as kindred spirits. Here David and John Major have chosen one hundred books that can each be delightfully consumed in one quiet evening. Covering categories from fantasy to fiction, history to humor, mystery to memoir, this addictive volume features books to match all your moods—by both celebrated writers and gifted unknowns, including: • Russell Baker • Willa Cather • Raymond Chandler • F. Scott Fitzgerald • Graham Greene • Edith Hamilton • Dashiell Hammett • Helene Hanff • Ernest Hemingway • Patricia Highsmith • Shirley Jackson • Henry James • W. Somerset Maugham • Mary McCarthy • Walter Mosley • Vladimir Nabokov • Patrick O'Brian • Barbara Pym • Phillip Roth • Vikram Seth • Isaac Bashevis Singer • C. P. Snow • Dylan Thomas • Evelyn Waugh • Edith Wharton • Laura Ingalls Wilder • Virginia Woolf Each selection contains an entertaining discussion of what makes the book special, from an adventurous writing style to a unique sense of humor. The Majors also share insights about the authors and literary anecdotes, as well as recommend other gems on a similar subject or by the same author. A literary companion to relish and refer to again and again, 100 One-Night Reads is a masterpiece in its own right! From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Dog Lover's Companion to California

The Inside Scoop on Where to Take Your Dog

Author: Maria Goodavage

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1612382452

Category: Travel

Page: 1048

View: 6800

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Dog Lover's Companion to California has the inside scoop on the best dog runs, parks, beaches, hiking trails, camping areas, pet-friendly businesses, and much more. Local author Maria Goodavage and her trusty companion Jake have dug up many surprising resources available to dogs in the Golden State, such as baseball games, summer camps, and pet parades. For the less outdoorsy dog, there are doggy spas, art openings, and even winery visits! Packed with helpful maps, up-to-date leash laws, and a useful "paw" ranking system for all locations in the book, The Dog Lover's Companion to California is a dog's best friend.

Gregs Tagebuch - Von Idioten umzingelt!

Author: Jeff Kinney

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732508684

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 1492

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Bei dieser Ausgabe handelt es sich um ein PDF. Bitte informieren Sie sich vor dem Kauf darüber, ob Ihr Gerät diese Datei öffnen und korrekt darstellen kann. Greg hat von seiner Mutter ein Tagebuch geschenkt bekommen. Und das, obwohl Tagebücher doch eigentlich nur was für Mädchen sind! Oder etwa doch nicht? Greg jedenfalls beginnt einfach mal darin zu schreiben und zu zeichnen: über seine lästigen Brüder, seine Eltern, seinen trotteligen Freund Rupert, den täglichen Überlebenskampf in der Schule, ein echt gruseliges Geisterhaus und über den verbotenen Stinkekäse ...

The Creative Tarot

A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life

Author: Jessa Crispin

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501120239

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 352

View: 9265

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A guide for artists and creative people looking to tarot for guidance and inspiration. Written for novices and seasoned readers alike, "The Creative Tarot" is a unique guidebook that reimagines tarot cards and the ways they can boost the creative process.

Smile

Author: Raina Telgemeier

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783833226540

Category:

Page: 213

View: 7198

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Töchter des Himmels

Roman

Author: Amy Tan

Publisher: Goldmann Verlag

ISBN: 3641149592

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 9034

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Vier junge Frauen zwischen altem China und neuer Welt. Waverly, June, Rose und Lena, vier junge Frauen in San Francisco. Durch und durch Amerikanerinnen, die der American Way of Life stark geprägt hat – im Gegensatz zu ihren Müttern. Die sind 1949 unter dramatischen Umständen vor der roten Armee in die Vereinigten Staaten geflüchtet und noch immer chinesisch bis in die Knochen. Zwei Kulturen prallen aufeinander und scheinen nicht zueinanderzufinden. Bis die Töchter erkennen, dass sie die einmalige Chance haben, zwei Welten in sich zu verbinden, sie müssen nur bereit dafür sein.

The New York Public Library literature companion

Author: New York Public Library,Anne Skillion

Publisher: Free Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 772

View: 3274

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Compiles information about English-language literature from around the world, discussing authors, works of literature, recommended reading, censorship, literary characters, and a chronology of world literature.

Nur drei Worte (Nur drei Worte – Love, Simon )

Author: Becky Albertalli

Publisher: Carlsen

ISBN: 3646928476

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 1904

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Gewinner des Deutschen Jugendliteraturpreises 2017! (Jugendjury) »Dieses Buch hat mir ein breites Grinsen aufs Gesicht gezaubert. Mein Herz ist zehnmal größer geworden. Ich bin wahrscheinlich ein besserer, gesünderer und glücklicherer Mensch, seitdem ich es gelesen habe.« (Leserstimme auf Goodreads) Was Simon über Blue weiß: Er ist witzig, sehr weise, aber auch ein bisschen schüchtern. Und ganz schön verwirrend. Was Simon nicht über Blue weiß: WER er ist. Die beiden gehen auf dieselbe Schule und schon seit Monaten tauschen sie E-Mails aus, in denen sie sich die intimsten Dinge gestehen. Simon spürt, dass er sich langsam, aber sicher in Blue verliebt, doch der ist noch nicht bereit, sich mit Simon zu treffen. Dann fällt eine der E-Mails in falsche Hände – und plötzlich steht Simons Leben Kopf. Die schönste Liebesgeschichte aller Zeiten – Herzchenaugen und Dauergrinsen garantiert!

Das wilde Buch

Author: Juan Villoro

Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG

ISBN: 3446247092

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 2017

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mit Büchern kann der 13-jährige Juan wenig anfangen, bis er die Sommerferien bei seinem buchvernarrten Onkel Tito verbringt. Der lebt in einer gigantischen Bibliothek und er hat gleich einen Auftrag für Juan: Er soll das wilde Buch finden, ein rebellisches Buch, das sich dem Gelesenwerden widersetzt und lange von niemandem gefunden werden konnte. Juan lässt sich auf das Abenteuer ein. Zwischen sonderbaren Buchtypen entdeckt er die tollsten Geschichten – nur das wilde Buch nicht. Erst als er seine erste Liebe, die Apothekerstochter, von der Magie der Bücher überzeugt und eine Verbindung zum echten Leben herstellt, offenbart es sich ... Ein fantasievolles Jugendbuch über die Liebe zum Lesen.

Southern Belly

A Food Lover's Companion

Author: John T. Edge

Publisher: Algonquin Books

ISBN: 1565128419

Category: Travel

Page: 352

View: 2222

DOWNLOAD NOW »

John T. Edge, "the Faulkner of Southern food" (the Miami Herald), reveals a South hidden in plain sight, where restaurants boast family pedigrees and serve supremely local specialties found nowhere else. From backdoor home kitchens to cinder-block cafés, he introduces you to cooks who have been standing tall by the stove since Eisenhower was in office. While revealing the stories behind their food, he shines a bright light on places that have become Southern institutions. In this fully updated and expanded edition, with recipes throughout, Edge travels from chicken shack to fish camp, from barbecue stand to pie shed. Pop this handy paperback in the glove box to take along on your next road trip. And even if you never get in the car, you'll enjoy the most savory history that the South has to offer.

The Wine Club

A Month-by-Month Guide to Learning about Wine with Friends

Author: Maureen Christian Petrosky

Publisher: Meredith Books

ISBN: 9780696225437

Category: Cooking

Page: 224

View: 2317

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"You'll enjoy learning more about wine and food with your friends when you start your own wine club. It's casual, fun, as easy as opening a bottle, and every club meeting is a party."--Cover.

100 Countries, 5,000 Ideas

Where to Go, When to Go, What to See, What to Do

Author: National Geographic,National Geographic Society (U.S.). Book Division

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 1426207581

Category: Travel

Page: 399

View: 1318

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A book with 200 color photos and 100 maps includes thousands of ideas for travel all over the world, organized by country. Original.

Die einzige Wahrheit

Roman

Author: Jodi Picoult

Publisher: Piper Verlag

ISBN: 3492953298

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 6664

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Tiefe Verzweiflung erfasst die junge Katie. Doch in der kleinen Amisch-Gemeinde von Lancaster County kann sie niemandem ihr Geheimnis anvertrauen. Deshalb betet sie zu Gott, dass das hilflose Bündel vor ihr im Stroh für immer aus ihrem Leben verschwinden möge– und steht wenig später unter Mordverdacht. Vor dem faszinierenden Hintergrund der Lebenswelt einer Amisch-Gemeinde erzählt Jodi Picoult von Liebe und Tod, Verrat und bewegender Treue: ein meisterhafter psychologischer Thriller und die Geschichte einer mitreißenden Freundschaft zweier ungewöhnlicher Frauen.