The Silver Baron's Wife

Author: Donna Baier Stein

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780997101065

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 6129

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Silver Baron's Wife traces the rags-to-riches-to-rags life of Colorado's Baby Doe Tabor (Lizzie). This fascinating heroine worked in the silver mines and had two scandalous marriages, one to a philandering opium addict and one to a Senator and silver baron worth $24 million in the late 19th century. A divorcee shunned by Denver society, Lizzie raised two daughters in a villa where 100 peacocks roamed the lawns, entertained Sarah Bernhardt when the actress performed at Tabor's Opera House, and after her second husband's death, moved to a one-room shack at the Matchless Mine in Leadville. She lived the last 35 years of her life there, writing down thousands of her dreams and noting visitations of spirits on her calendar. Hers is the tale of a fiercely independent woman who bucked all social expectations by working where 19thcentury women didn't work, becoming the key figure in one of the West's most scandalous love triangles, and, after a devastating stock market crash destroyed Tabor's vast fortune, living in eccentric isolation at the Matchless Mine. An earlier version of this novel won the PEN/New England Discovery Award in Fiction."

Deceived & Honoured

The Baron's Vexing Wife

Author: Bree Wolf

Publisher: Bree Wolf

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 355

View: 3997

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For fans of Mary Balogh and Christi Caldwell comes a moving tale of love and family…from the ballrooms of London to a lonely country estate! LADY MADELEINE has vowed not to marry below the rank of an earl. Using her clever wit and fierce determination, she has passed up several marriage offers as well as successfully sidestepped the occasional scandal. Ultimately, her choice falls on the Earl of Townsend who is handsome, rich AND an earl and thus everything she’s ever desired in a husband. Until one night when her plans go horribly awry, and she is compromised by the wrong man. DEREK MCKNIGHT, BARON AINSWORTH, is a self-made man. As a farmer’s son, he gained glory in the war and was given a run-down barony for his service to the crown. Now, he only wishes to keep a safe distance from the peers he despises and rebuild his estate to see his family and tenants well settled. Until one night when he sees a raven-haired lady on the arm of a man from his past. Determined to protect her, he takes a wrong step, dooming them both. Will Madeline ever be able to see past his title? Can Derek come to love a woman of high standing? "This is a story of hope and brightness, that lets you remember that good exists in the world and love can conquer all." - SIMATSU, Amazon Review "Another wonderful story that is different, interesting and just plain draws you in! Love the characters as they fall in love, find themselves and become better individuals. Great Read and I will read anything Ms Wolf writes!" - Nichee, Amazon Review "I have read every single historical romance book that Bree has written. And she never has disappointed me. I finish her book just waiting for the next book. I am die hard fan of Bree Wolf. If you read this book, you will definitely want to read her other books. " - Amazon Review

The Baron in the Trees

Author: Italo Calvino

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0544959116

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 5192

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Cosimo di Rondó, a young Italian nobleman of the eighteenth century, rebels against his parents by climbing into the trees and remaining there for the rest of his life. He adapts efficiently to an existence in the forest canopy—he hunts, sows crops, plays games with earth-bound friends, fights forest fires, solves engineering problems, and even manages to have love affairs. From his perch in the trees, Cosimo sees the Age of Enlightenment pass by and a new century dawn.

The Tale of Two Barons

Author: Linda Rae Sande

Publisher: Twisted Teacup Publishing

ISBN: 1946271152

Category: Fiction

Page: 330

View: 6228

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A sensual tale of a book, a baron, and a bride-to-be In need of income for the struggling Sommers barony, Jeffrey Althorpe arranges for the publication of a book he’s written–anonymously, of course. A dowry would be easier, but then he would have to find a willing wife. While her brother is away on an expedition, Lady Evangeline is left behind to spend her days creating exquisite embroideries and reading books. She's about to buy The Story of a Baron when Lord Sommers suddenly appears, intent on buying the very same book—but there’s only one copy. Desperate to discover what his publisher might have done to his story—without letting on he’s the author—Jeffrey suggests they read it together. Evangeline's sterling reputation could use a bit of scandal, so she agrees. As the two read the book, Evangeline realizes some of the characters are a bit too familiar and the settings are a bit too close to home. Was she the inspiration for the baron’s secret love, a bold, brash woman whose reputation is in tatters? With her own reputation suddenly in question, Evangeline finds her life imitating art. How can the book have a happy ending when she wishes she’d never purchased "The Story of a Baron"?

Bows Against the Barons

Author: Geoffrey Trease

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781907869921

Category: Children's stories

Page: 148

View: 2897

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Chesham, a small market town in the valley of the River Chess between the beech-clad Chiltern Hills in Buckinghamshire, has a long history of light craft industry based on locally produced raw materials. Early development had been confined to the floor of the valley, resulting in a very long, narrow town through which the High Street and its continuation was the only main road, carrying all local and any through traffic. The recent need to accommodate more through traffic required drastic treatment; as the narrow confines of the valley prevented any bypass for the town centre, the only solution was an inner relief road, construction of which involved demolition of some of the older parts of the town. This little volume illustrates, by sequences of photographs of selected features, how Chesham changed through the twentieth century.

In the Garden of Temptation (The Garden Series Book 1)

Author: N.A

Publisher: Cynthia Wicklund

ISBN: N.A

Category: Man-woman relationships

Page: N.A

View: 9182

DOWNLOAD NOW »

HONOR -- Adam Stanford, Earl of Ashworth, has always done the right thing. DESIRE -- Lady Catherine Bourgeault, lonely and rejected, longs to experience passion, to love just once in her life. TREACHERY -- The Baron Bourgeault, to what extremes will an obsessive, unstable man go to achieve his own dark ends? SEDUCTION -- In the face of a love that will not be denied, Adam and Catherine risk everything to be together. BETRAYAL -- What price must Catherine and Adam pay for a forbidden love in a time when honor meant everything?

A Genealogical History of the Barons Slane

Author: F. Lawrence Fleming

Publisher: Paragon Publishing

ISBN: 1899820507

Category: History

Page: 96

View: 4262

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Medieval records give evidence of only two genetically distinct families by the name of Fleming. The progenitor of one of these families was, according to ancient tradition, a Flemish nobleman who lived in Danish occupied Pomerania in the late twelfth century. The factual identity of this "first Fleming" has never been discovered in the primary sources of medieval history. The progenitor of the other of these two Fleming families was-again according to tradition-a Flemish nobleman who came to England with William the Conqueror. In the case of this family, ancient tradition is borne out by ancient documents, which are the sources for the family history that is reviewed in this publication. Erkenbald the Fleming, enumerated in Domesday Book as Erchenbaldus, was in 1086 the tenant of a number of feudal estates in Devonshire and Cornwall. This companion of the Conqueror was almost certainly known to the French-speaking Normans in eleventh-century England as Archambaud le Flemynge. Many of his innumerous descendants are readily identified as such by their surname, including Christopher Fleming, 16th Baron Slane, the young Anglo-Irish army officer who fought at the side of the deposed King James II at the battle of the Boyne in 1691. The information gathered in this publication will be of interest to students of medieval history and prosopography as well as to the thousands of modern-day Flemings who would like to know more about their ancestral family.

The Baron's Betrayal

Author: Callie Hutton

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781507525333

Category: Fiction

Page: 242

View: 8432

DOWNLOAD NOW »

It's been two years since Lady Marion Tunstall lost her husband at sea. Two years of sorrow and grief. Only now has the young, comely widow finally re-entered society. It isn't until she and her family attend the merriment of a country dance that Lady Marion sees her dead husband, alive and well... and faints dead away. Lord Tristan Tunstall has no choice but to confess - he is alive, yes, but not a whole man who can be a husband and father. When he offers her a divorce, however, Marion stubbornly refuses. Now she has forced herself back into his life, and into his home and (oh, God forgive his weakness) his bed. He cannot stop himself from wanting her. Loving her. But can he live with the secret she is keeping from him?