Pride and Joy

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755383362

Category: Fiction

Page: 311

View: 4772

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For sixteen-year-old Mary Harris, growing up in Rotherhithe in 1934 has its ups and downs. She has a good job in a biscuit factory and a best friend, Liz, who's fun to be with, but she's worried about her younger brother Eddie. Eddie is a difficult child whose bad behaviour affects the whole family. Although Mary's stepfather Ted denies losing his temper with the boy, Mary's seen the bruises on Eddie's small body. She wishes her parents would take Eddie to a specialist as perhaps then they would find out what's wrong with him. Mary escapes her problems for a while when she meets Liz's handsome brother Billy, who's a sailor. And when a fortune-teller predicts romance is in the air, Mary's sure that Billy is the one for her. But the future holds some surprises for Mary, and there's heartbreak to come before she can find true love.

The Bellamy Saga

Author: John Pearson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1448210720

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 4135

DOWNLOAD NOW »

First published in 1976, this fictional biography is the intimate and detailed portrait of the celebrated Bellamy family of Upstairs, Downstairs. No family in the past century - excepting perhaps the Forsytes - has been so dramatically exposed to public stare as the Bellamys of Eaton Place. Drawing from the diaries of Richard Bellamy, the personal letters of Lady Majorie, the Southwold Papers in the British Museum, as well as his own friendship with James Bellamy and his conversations with Mrs. Elizabeth (Bellamy) Wallace shortly before her recent death in New York City, John Pearson has written a sensitive and finely detailed portrait of this patrician English family. The Bellamys could not have anticipated the extraordinary interest that their lives have generated in Europe and America through the award-winning television series Upstairs, Downstairs. Here, Mr. Pearson chronicles the Bellamys' complex, stormy, and passionate lives during the years between 1884 and 1929, when they reigned at 165 Eaton Place. An exciting and intriguing narrative in its own right, The Bellamy Saga is also a tribute to the surviving relatives and friends who consented - although some of them did so reluctantly - to relinquish much of the privacy they cherish.

Down Our Street

Friendship, family and love collide in this wartime saga (Molly and Nellie series, Book 4)

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075539030X

Category: Fiction

Page: 396

View: 3577

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With a double wedding on the cards, Liverpool's best-loved neighbours plan for an unforgettable day. In Down Our Street, Joan Jonker brings us another instalment of her hugely popular Molly and Nellie series, as the two friends get up to more mischief in their beloved Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Hilarious but touching' - Woman's Realm The Second World War is finally over and best friends Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough are bursting with happiness. Their beloved sons are coming home at last and their eldest children are planning to marry each other. When a double wedding is announced, Molly is determined to give her two beautiful daughters a day to remember for the rest of their lives. Meanwhile Nellie's daughter Lily has a boyfriend whom no one likes. When he brings trouble to their door, Nellie's friends in the street are ready to face it. And there's a handsome young chap just waiting in the wings for Lily... What readers are saying about Down Our Street: 'This book is like a breath of fresh air, never have I laughed so much and also cried at the antics of Molly and Nellie' 'A lovely story that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear. A story that will touch every emotion. It's so well written that it makes you feel a part of the families'

The Girl from the Tyne

Emotions run high in this gripping family saga!

Author: Melody Sachs

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785762869

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 6378

DOWNLOAD NOW »

YOU CAN'T CHOOSE YOUR FAMILY! - for fans of Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. Melody Sachs brings us her gritty and charming World War II saga. We promise you won't be able to put it down! When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy. But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother's frustration and anger. It's only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella's Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms. Will she escape her mother's clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

Hillbilly-Elegie

Die Geschichte meiner Familie und einer Gesellschaft in der Krise

Author: J. D. Vance

Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage

ISBN: 3843715777

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 2290

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Seine Großeltern versuchten, mit Fleiß und Mobilität der Armut zu entkommen und sich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft zu etablieren. Doch letztlich war alles vergeblich. J. D. Vance erzählt die Geschichte seiner Familie — eine Geschichte vom Scheitern und von der Resignation einer ganzen Bevölkerungsschicht. Armut und Chaos, Hilflosigkeit und Gewalt, Drogen und Alkohol: Genau in diesem Teufelskreis befinden sich viele weiße Arbeiterfamilien in den USA — entfremdet von der politischen Führung, abgehängt vom Rest der Gesellschaft, anfällig für populistische Parolen. Früher konnten sich die »Hillbillys«, die weißen Fabrikarbeiter, erhoffen, sich zu Wohlstand zu schuften. Doch spätestens gegen Ende des 20sten Jahrhunderts zog der Niedergang der alten Industrien ihre Familien in eine Abwärtsspirale, in der sie bis heute stecken. Vance gelingt es wie keinem anderen, diese ausweglose Situation und die Krise einer ganzen Gesellschaft eindrücklich zu schildern. Sein Buch bewegte Millionen von Lesern in den USA und erklärt nicht zuletzt den Wahltriumph eines Donald Trump.

Feuer und Blut - Erstes Buch

Aufstieg und Fall des Hauses Targaryen von Westeros

Author: George R.R. Martin

Publisher: Penhaligon Verlag

ISBN: 3641233399

Category: Fiction

Page: 896

View: 3030

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Wie alles begann! Die packende Vorgeschichte um die Herrschaft des Königshauses Targaryen. Was für Tolkiens Fans das Silmarillion ist, erscheint nun von George R.R. Martin – die epische Vorgeschichte von »Das Lied von Eis und Feuer« / »Game of Thrones«! Drei Jahrhunderte, bevor die Serie beginnt, eroberte Aegon Targaryen mit seinen Schwestergemahlinnen und ihren drei Drachen den Kontinent Westeros. 280 Jahre währte die Herrschaft seiner Nachkommen. Sie überstanden Rebellion und Bürgerkrieg – bis Robert Baratheon den irren König Aerys II. vom Eisernen Thron stürzte. Dies ist die Geschichte des großen Hauses Targaryen, niedergeschrieben von Erzmaester Gyldayn, transkribiert von George R.R. Martin.

Jenseits aller Vernunft

Roman

Author: Sandra Brown

Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3641150787

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 1126

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ein Wirbelsturm aus Gefahr und Begierde Auf dem Weg nach Texas quält sich ein Wagentreck durch die staubige Prärie. Auf einem der Wagen reist Lydia mit, eine geheimnisvolle Rothaarige, die vor Kurzem ihr Neugeborenes verloren hat. Auch Ross Coleman betrauert einen schrecklichen Verlust. Seine Frau ist im Kindbett gestorben. Doch der neugeborene Sohn braucht eine Mutter, und so geht er mit Lydia eine Vernunftehe ein. Eine Ehe – aus der Notwendigkeit geboren, zum Scheitern verurteilt? In der glühenden Präriesonne geraten Lydia und Ross in einen Sturm der Gefühle, der die bösen Schatten ihrer Vergangenheit ebenso ans Licht bringt wie ihre bedingungslose Leidenschaft.

Bowker's Directory of Audiocassettes for Children

Author: R R Bowker Publishing,Bowker

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Audiocassettes for children

Page: 382

View: 1845

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Packed with over 10000 titles, this valuable guide lets you quickly track down the audiocassettes that parents, teachers, & children want & need - from popular read-along & sing-along audiobooks for preschoolers ... to literary classics for young adults ... to nonfiction works in any subject or curriculum area, for any age level.

Die Unsterblichen

Roman

Author: Chloe Benjamin

Publisher: btb Verlag

ISBN: 3641207088

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 5794

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Wie würdest du leben, wenn du wüsstest, an welchem Tag du stirbst? Sommer 1969: Wie ein Lauffeuer spricht sich in der New Yorker Lower East Side herum, dass eine Wahrsagerin im Viertel eingetroffen ist, die jedem Menschen den Tag seines Todes vorhersagen kann. Neugierig machen sich die vier Geschwister Gold auf den Weg. Nichtsahnend, dass dieses Wissen für jeden von ihnen auf unterschiedliche Weise zum Verhängnis wird. Simon, den Jüngsten, zieht es Anfang der 1980-er Jahre nach San Francisco, wo er nach Liebe sucht und alle Vorsicht über Bord wirft. Klara, verwundbar und träumerisch, wird als Zauberkünstlerin zur Grenzgängerin zwischen Realität und Illusion. Daniel findet nach 9/11 Sicherheit als Arzt bei der Army. Varya wiederum widmet sich der Altersforschung und lotet die Grenzen des Lebens aus. Doch um welchen Preis?

Durchstarten zum Traumjob - Das Workbook

Author: Richard Nelson Bolles

Publisher: Campus Verlag

ISBN: 3593391112

Category: Law

Page: 92

View: 1200

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Wer auf der Suche nach seinem Traumjob ist, sollte ganz genau wissen, welche Talente und Fähigkeiten er hat – denn nur dann lässt sich herausfinden, welcher Job wirklich zu einem passt. Das Workbook kann begleitend zu dem Bestseller »Durchstarten zum Traumjob« von Richard Nelson Bolles durchgearbeitet werden, es lässt sich aber auch unabhängig davon als eigenständiges Übungs- und Arbeitsbuch benutzen. Jetzt komplett überarbeitet und in neuer Übersetzung.

Ein einfaches Leben

Roman

Author: Min Jin Lee

Publisher: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3423434929

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 5272

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Der Bestseller aus den USA Zwanzig Jahre Arbeit stecken in diesem großen, umwerfenden Buch, das in zwanzig Ländern erscheint: Sunja, Tochter eines Fischers, wird genau im falschen Moment schwach, genau beim falschen Mann. Um keine Schande über ihre Familie zu bringen, verlässt sie Korea und bringt ihre Söhne Noa und Mozasu fernab der Heimat in Japan zur Welt. Koreanische Einwanderer, selbst in zweiter Generation, leben dort als Menschen zweiter Klasse. Während Sunja sich abzufinden versucht, fordern ihre Söhne ihr Schicksal heraus. Noa studiert an den besten Universitäten und Mozasu zieht es in die Pachinko-Spielhallen der kriminellen Unterwelt der Yakuza.