Pride and Joy

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755383362

Category: Fiction

Page: 311

View: 7677

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For sixteen-year-old Mary Harris, growing up in Rotherhithe in 1934 has its ups and downs. She has a good job in a biscuit factory and a best friend, Liz, who's fun to be with, but she's worried about her younger brother Eddie. Eddie is a difficult child whose bad behaviour affects the whole family. Although Mary's stepfather Ted denies losing his temper with the boy, Mary's seen the bruises on Eddie's small body. She wishes her parents would take Eddie to a specialist as perhaps then they would find out what's wrong with him. Mary escapes her problems for a while when she meets Liz's handsome brother Billy, who's a sailor. And when a fortune-teller predicts romance is in the air, Mary's sure that Billy is the one for her. But the future holds some surprises for Mary, and there's heartbreak to come before she can find true love.

The Bellamy Saga

Author: John Pearson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1448210720

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 7583

DOWNLOAD NOW »

First published in 1976, this fictional biography is the intimate and detailed portrait of the celebrated Bellamy family of Upstairs, Downstairs. No family in the past century - excepting perhaps the Forsytes - has been so dramatically exposed to public stare as the Bellamys of Eaton Place. Drawing from the diaries of Richard Bellamy, the personal letters of Lady Majorie, the Southwold Papers in the British Museum, as well as his own friendship with James Bellamy and his conversations with Mrs. Elizabeth (Bellamy) Wallace shortly before her recent death in New York City, John Pearson has written a sensitive and finely detailed portrait of this patrician English family. The Bellamys could not have anticipated the extraordinary interest that their lives have generated in Europe and America through the award-winning television series Upstairs, Downstairs. Here, Mr. Pearson chronicles the Bellamys' complex, stormy, and passionate lives during the years between 1884 and 1929, when they reigned at 165 Eaton Place. An exciting and intriguing narrative in its own right, The Bellamy Saga is also a tribute to the surviving relatives and friends who consented - although some of them did so reluctantly - to relinquish much of the privacy they cherish.

Hillbilly-Elegie

Die Geschichte meiner Familie und einer Gesellschaft in der Krise

Author: J. D. Vance

Publisher: Ullstein Buchverlage

ISBN: 3843715777

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 8437

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Seine Großeltern versuchten, mit Fleiß und Mobilität der Armut zu entkommen und sich in der Mitte der Gesellschaft zu etablieren. Doch letztlich war alles vergeblich. J. D. Vance erzählt die Geschichte seiner Familie — eine Geschichte vom Scheitern und von der Resignation einer ganzen Bevölkerungsschicht. Armut und Chaos, Hilflosigkeit und Gewalt, Drogen und Alkohol: Genau in diesem Teufelskreis befinden sich viele weiße Arbeiterfamilien in den USA — entfremdet von der politischen Führung, abgehängt vom Rest der Gesellschaft, anfällig für populistische Parolen. Früher konnten sich die »Hillbillys«, die weißen Fabrikarbeiter, erhoffen, sich zu Wohlstand zu schuften. Doch spätestens gegen Ende des 20sten Jahrhunderts zog der Niedergang der alten Industrien ihre Familien in eine Abwärtsspirale, in der sie bis heute stecken. Vance gelingt es wie keinem anderen, diese ausweglose Situation und die Krise einer ganzen Gesellschaft eindrücklich zu schildern. Sein Buch bewegte Millionen von Lesern in den USA und erklärt nicht zuletzt den Wahltriumph eines Donald Trump.

Down Our Street

Friendship, family and love collide in this wartime saga (Molly and Nellie series, Book 4)

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075539030X

Category: Fiction

Page: 396

View: 3928

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With a double wedding on the cards, Liverpool's best-loved neighbours plan for an unforgettable day. In Down Our Street, Joan Jonker brings us another instalment of her hugely popular Molly and Nellie series, as the two friends get up to more mischief in their beloved Liverpool. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Lindsey Hutchinson. 'Hilarious but touching' - Woman's Realm The Second World War is finally over and best friends Molly Bennett and Nellie McDonough are bursting with happiness. Their beloved sons are coming home at last and their eldest children are planning to marry each other. When a double wedding is announced, Molly is determined to give her two beautiful daughters a day to remember for the rest of their lives. Meanwhile Nellie's daughter Lily has a boyfriend whom no one likes. When he brings trouble to their door, Nellie's friends in the street are ready to face it. And there's a handsome young chap just waiting in the wings for Lily... What readers are saying about Down Our Street: 'This book is like a breath of fresh air, never have I laughed so much and also cried at the antics of Molly and Nellie' 'A lovely story that will make you laugh out loud and shed a tear. A story that will touch every emotion. It's so well written that it makes you feel a part of the families'

The Girl from the Tyne

Emotions run high in this gripping family saga!

Author: Melody Sachs

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN: 1785762869

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 9622

DOWNLOAD NOW »

YOU CAN'T CHOOSE YOUR FAMILY! - for fans of Kitty Neale and Nadine Dorries. Melody Sachs brings us her gritty and charming World War II saga. We promise you won't be able to put it down! When ballroom dancer Alice Rooney seduces Jack Wood, he soon finds himself in a volatile marriage. Yet from the moment he meets his baby daughter, he knows he will do anything to make her happy. But at the start of WWII Jack is drafted by the Air Force, and little Lizzie is left with her mother. Damaged and troubled, Alice grows increasingly unstable and Lizzie finds herself the focus of her mother's frustration and anger. It's only when Lizzie arrives at Madame Bella's Academy for the Theatrical Arts that she blossoms. Will she escape her mother's clutches and can her dream of a glittering theatrical future ever come true?

Pride and Prometheus

Author: John Kessel

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1481481479

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4386

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Threatened with destruction unless he fashions a wife for his Creature, Victor Frankenstein travels to England where he meets Mary and Kitty Bennet, the remaining unmarried sisters of the Bennet family from Pride and Prejudice Meanwhile, the awkward Mary hopes that Victor will save her from approaching spinsterhood while wondering what dark secret he is keeping from her. Pride and Prometheus fuses the gothic horror of Mary Shelley with the Regency romance of Jane Austen in an exciting novel that combines two age-old stories in a fresh and startling way.

Die Bücherdiebin

Roman

Author: Markus Zusak

Publisher: cbj Verlag

ISBN: 3894804270

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 6932

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.

Heiße Milch

Roman

Author: Deborah Levy

Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch

ISBN: 3462317245

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 7733

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Shortlist des Man Booker Prize – die psychologisch faszinierende Geschichte einer Mutter-Tochter-Beziehung.Eine junge Frau begleitet ihre Mutter nach Spanien, wo diese in einer Spezialklinik behandelt werden soll, da die Beine ihr den Dienst versagen. Doch ist das Leiden der Mutter wirklich physischer Natur, oder versucht sie, ihre Tochter an sich zu binden? Dr. Gomez gilt als Koryphäe, deshalb reisen die beiden Engländerinnen nach Andalusien, wo sich Rose in Behandlung begibt. Sofia, deren griechischer Vater die Familie vor Jahren verließ, versucht zu ergründen, woran ihre Mutter erkrankt ist und wo sie selbst steht. Beim Schwimmen im Meer, das voller Medusen ist, in Gesprächen mit Dr. Gomez oder dessen Tochter wird ihr immer klarer, dass sie sich von ihrer Mutter befreien muss. Als sie die Deutsche Ingrid kennenlernt, die selbstbewusst und unkonventionell ihr Leben lebt, trifft Sofia Entscheidungen. Ein Roman über eine allzu enge Mutter-Tochter-Beziehung, über Abhängigkeit und Emanzipation und über die Suche nach Identität, ein Buch, das wie ein Quallenbiss brennt und noch lange nachwirkt. Deborah Levy, die Autorin von »Heim schwimmen«, wurde für diesen Roman mehrfach ausgezeichnet und für den Man Booker Prize nominiert. »Ein Roman, der in seiner Klarheit an Virginia Woolf erinnert« The Guardian

Bowker's Directory of Audiocassettes for Children

Author: R R Bowker Publishing,Bowker

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Audiocassettes for children

Page: 382

View: 1059

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Packed with over 10000 titles, this valuable guide lets you quickly track down the audiocassettes that parents, teachers, & children want & need - from popular read-along & sing-along audiobooks for preschoolers ... to literary classics for young adults ... to nonfiction works in any subject or curriculum area, for any age level.

Vom Menschen

Essay on Man (Englisch - Deutsch)

Author: Alexander Pope

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 3787326480

Category: Philosophy

Page: 140

View: 1077

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Das Lehrgedicht über den Menschen von Alexander Pope (1688-1744) gilt als eines der herausragenden literarischen Zeugnisse seiner Zeit. Bald nach seinem Erscheinen 1733/1734 in viele Sprachen übersetzt, spiegelt es den moralphilosophischen Optimismus der frühen Aufklärung wider. Diese Ausgabe enthält den englischen Originaltext samt Angabe von Textvarianten und eine deutsche metrische Übertragung. Durch Register und zahlreiche erläuternde Anmerkungen wird der Zugang zum Text erleichtert.

Das Haus am Sunset Lake

Roman

Author: Tasmina Perry

Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag

ISBN: 3641212731

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 7666

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Der perfekte Roman für einen entspannten Sommertag ... Savannah 1995: Ein herrlicher Sommer liegt vor Jennifer Wyatt, als sie mit dem Collegeabschluss in der Tasche nach Casa D'Or zurückkehrt – der verwunschenen Südstaatenplantage am Sunset Lake, die seit Generationen im Besitz ihrer Familie ist. Zwanzig Jahre später ist Casa D’Or verlassen, und Jennifer hat die Tür zu ihrer Vergangenheit fest verschlossen. Zu schmerzlich sind die Erinnerungen an jenen letzten Sommer. Doch dann tritt plötzlich Jim wieder in ihr Leben – der Mann, dem sie damals ihr Herz schenkte. Das Wiedersehen wühlt alte Erinnerungen auf und enthüllt die dunklen Geheimnisse, die das Haus seit jenem tragischen Sommer birgt ...