Bold Girls Speak

Girls of the Bible Come Alive Today

Author: Mary Stromer Hanson

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1621899233

Category: Religion

Page: 200

View: 5232

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Bold Girls Speak inspires girls to go boldly where God calls. This collection of Old and New Testament short stories follows smart, problem-solving girls who persevere and thrive with God's help in difficult circumstances. Most are unnamed and overlooked, living in a foreign culture, but the small ones can make a big difference. A few of the main characters are well known and named, but most are found in tucked-away verses in the shadows of the powerful. The girls live in historical and social-cultural settings authentic to the Bible, and they increase the reader's curiosity about biblical times and places. Each story is accompanied by age-appropriate commentary and discussion questions appropriate for classes, mother-daughter groups, home-schoolers, and Christian schools, as well as those reading for enjoyment.

Bold Girls

Author: Rona Munro

Publisher: Nick Hern Books

ISBN: 9781848427785

Category: Drama

Page: 96

View: 8404

DOWNLOAD NOW »

It's 1991 in West Belfast. With their husbands either locked up or killed, Marie, Cassie and Nora are just trying to get on with their lives, despite the bombs, burning buses and soldiers trampling the flower beds. Life must go on - after all, there's still laundry to do and kids to feed. But when a mysterious young woman turns up on Marie's doorstep and disrupts their girls' night out, the devastating revelations which ensue will shatter dreams and threaten their friendship irrevocably. Sharply funny, moving, yet never shying from the harsh realities of life during the Troubles, Bold Girls is a celebration of women's strength under siege. It was first performed by 7:84 Scottish People's Theatre at Cumbernauld Theatre in 1990 and on tour. The play announced Rona Munro as one of the best playwrights of her generation, winning her the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize for 1990-91. This new edition was published alongside the revival at Theatre by the Lake, Keswick, in June 2018.

Life and adventures of Lewis Wetzel

Author: R.C. V. Meyers

Publisher: Рипол Классик

ISBN: 5877135139

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 7769

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Life and adventures of Lewis Wetzel, the renowned Virginia rancher and scout. Comprising a thrilling history of this celebrated Indian fighter, with his perilous adventures and hair-breads escapes, and including other interesting incidents of border-life.

The Cambridge Companion to Modern British Women Playwrights

Author: Elaine Aston,Janelle Reinelt

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9780521595339

Category: Drama

Page: 276

View: 7946

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This Companion addresses the work of women playwrights in Britain throughout the twentieth century. Chapters explore the historical and theatrical contexts in which women have written for the theatre and examine the work of individual playwrights. The volume brings together a transatlantic team of feminist theatre scholars and practitioners. A chronological section on playwriting from the 1920s to the 1970s is followed by chapters which raise issues of nationality and identity. Later sections question accepted notions of the canon and include chapters on non-mainstream writing, including black and lesbian performance.

That Takes Ovaries!

Bold Females and Their Brazen Acts

Author: Rivka Solomon

Publisher: Crown

ISBN: 0307566218

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 3081

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Having ovaries: unabashed, gutsy, feisty, playful, challenging, full of chutzpah, mettlesome, naughty, victorious, straight from the hip, full-flavored, outrageous, righteous, loving, inspiring, bold as brass, self-assured, self-confident, self-possessed, daring, heroic, wild, wanton, crazy, optimistic, unflappable, pushy, unstoppable, impressive, rebellious, kick-ass, carefree, having moxie, having heart, having no fear . . . “That takes balls” are words of praise usually reserved for a man who has done something tough, fearless, and maybe a little crazy—someone who pushes the boundaries or breaks a few rules. But when it comes to hotheaded courage, impassioned activism, quirky wisdom, or bold confrontation, women have got what it takes—and then some! That Takes Ovaries! is a lively, fun, and often touching celebration of women and girls doing their thing their way: * Kathleen, who reduced a would-be burglar to tears by lecturing him about black pride (all while standing in her underwear) * Elaine, a sky surfer who plunges from airplanes on a 30-inch surfboard * Rachel, a high school junior who organized 100 high school girls to take on the boys who harassed them * Denise, a teenage cashier who faced down an irate, gun-wielding gangbanger in an inner-city fast-food joint * Joani, a public health educator who opened the country’s first women-oriented sex-toys store * Eva, who made the dangerous, illegal journey from Central America to the United States in order to give her children a better life Now that takes ovaries! From the Trade Paperback edition.

Packaging Girlhood

Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes

Author: Sharon Lamb, Ed.D.,Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D.

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 9781429906326

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 336

View: 3226

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action. Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world. In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.

Bold Ink

Collected Voices of Women and Girls

Author: Deborah Reber,Keren Taylor

Publisher: Community Partners, FBO WriteGirl

ISBN: 9780974125107

Category: Fiction

Page: 215

View: 2697

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Fiction. Poetry. Cultural Writing. Education. A compilation of writing from girls and women ages 11 through 55. This unique collection of poems, short stories, essays, songs and scenes addresses everything from love and war to culture and current events. As a result of such diverse voices, BOLD INK provides the reader with insight into the minds of today's young women, while celebrating the art of creative writing like no other anthology.

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl (EasyRead Large Bold Edition)

Author: Harriet A. Jacobs

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 144290108X

Category: Antiques & Collectibles

Page: 340

View: 9425

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Books for All Kinds of Readers Read HowYouWant offers the widest selection of on-demand, accessible format editions on the market today. Our 7 different sizes of EasyRead are optimized by increasing the font size and spacing between the words and the letters. We partner with leading publishers around the globe. Our goal is to have accessible editions simultaneously released with publishers' new books so that all readers can have access to the books they want to read. To find more books in your format visit www.readhowyouwant.com

Understanding the Social Economy of the United States

Author: Laurie Mook,John R. Whitman,Jack Quarter,Ann Armstrong

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 1442663952

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 416

View: 6602

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Understanding the Social Economy of the United States is a comprehensive introduction to the operation and study of organizations with social goals – public sector nonprofits, civil society organizations, social enterprises, cooperatives and other organizations with a social mission – under the rubric of the social economy. This text is rich in examples and case studies that explain the social economy framework in the context of the United States. The book not only highlights the differences between these organizations and traditional businesses, but also provides applied chapters on organizational development, strategic management and leadership, human resources, finance, and social accounting and accountability in social economy organizations. The perfect introduction to the social economy framework for students of nonprofit management, business, social entrepreneurship, and public policy, Understanding the Social Economy of the United States an invaluable resource for the classroom and for practitioners working in the social economy sector.

Dangerous Sexualities

Medico-Moral Politics in England Since 1830

Author: Frank Mort

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 113470514X

Category: History

Page: 296

View: 6134

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Dangerous Sexualities takes a look at how our ideas of health and disease are linked to moral and immoral notions of sex. Beginning in the 1830s, Frank Mort relates his social historical narratives to the sexual choices and possibilities facing us now. This long-awaited second edition has been thoroughly updated to include new discussions of eugenics, race hygiene and social imperialism in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. With a new and extended bibliography, introduction and illustrations, this second edition brings a classic into the 21st Century.

Bold of heart

a mystery story for girls

Author: Helen Elmira Waite

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 1772

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Goose Girl (EasyRead Large Bold Edition)

Author: Harold Macgrath

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN: 1427068879

Category: Fiction

Page: 376

View: 9966

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Books for All Kinds of Readers Read HowYouWant offers the widest selection of on-demand, accessible format editions on the market today. Our 7 different sizes of EasyRead are optimized by increasing the font size and spacing between the words and the letters. We partner with leading publishers around the globe. Our goal is to have accessible editions simultaneously released with publishers' new books so that all readers can have access to the books they want to read. To find more books in your format visit www.readhowyouwant.com

The Red Fairy Book

Author: Andrew Lang

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486117545

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 6701

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The famed folklorist collects 37 tales of enchantment, ranging from the familiar ("Rapunzel," "Jack and the Beanstalk," and "The Golden Goose") to lesser-known stories from French, Russian, Danish, and Romanian sources. 97 illustrations.

Grimms' Fairy Tales

Author: Jacob Grimm,Brothers Grimm

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141964618

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5010

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the land of fantastical castles, vast lakes and deep forests, the Brothers Grimm collected a treasury of enchanting folk and fairy stories full of giants and dwarfs, witches and princesses, magical beasts and cunning children. From classics such as 'The Frog-Prince' and 'Hansel and Grettel' to the delights of 'Ashputtel' or 'Old Sultan', all hold a timeless magic which has enthralled children for centuries.