A Band of Steel

A family threatened by war but destroyed by love...

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755383826

Category: Fiction

Page: 401

View: 1640

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When the war forces a Jewish family to flee their home, they must find the strength to survive. A Band of Steel is a moving and compelling wartime saga from Rosie Goodwin, author of Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel and the Kindle No 1. bestselling saga No One's Girl. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Nadine Dorries. 'A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade' - Northern Echo When Adina and her family are forced to flee Cologne to escape the vicious menace of Nazi Germany in 1938, leaving their luxurious lifestyle is painful. Harder still is finding herself a refugee in a foreign country. But Adina is a compassionate and determined girl and as they settle into a new life in the Midlands she finds the strength to survive. However, her brother and sister aren't so lucky and their family ties are stretched to breaking point. And then Adina runs the risk of losing her family forever when she is drawn towards the one man she should never fall in love with... What Amazon readers are saying about A Band of Steel: 'I was hooked from the very first page. The personalities of the main characters were very credible and the story flowed very well. It was easy to follow without being predictable and I couldn't wait for the next opportunity to pick up the book. Would thoroughly recommend - buy it now!' 'Fantastic book, couldn't put it down. Gripped by the characters, the story, the setting. I haven't read a book that entertained me so much in a long while and I would highly recommend'

Civil Wars

Women and the Crisis of Southern Nationalism

Author: George C. Rable

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 9780252062124

Category: History

Page: 391

View: 4908

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Britannica Book of the Year 2012

Author: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.

Publisher: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.

ISBN: 1615356185

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 882

View: 3891

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Britannica Book of the Year 2012 provides a valuable viewpoint of the people and events that shaped the year and serves as a great reference source for the latest news on the ever changing populations, governments, and economies throughout the world. It is an accurate and comprehensive reference that you will reach for again and again.

Die Bücherdiebin

Roman

Author: Markus Zusak

Publisher: cbj Verlag

ISBN: 3894804270

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 6958

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Selbst der Tod hat ein Herz ... Molching bei München. Hans und Rosa Hubermann nehmen die kleine Liesel Meminger bei sich auf – für eine bescheidene Beihilfe, die ihnen die ersten Kriegsjahre kaum erträglicher macht. Für Liesel jedoch bricht eine Zeit voller Hoffnung, voll schieren Glücks an – in dem Augenblick, als sie zu stehlen beginnt. Anfangs ist es nur ein Buch, das im Schnee liegen geblieben ist. Dann eines, das sie aus dem Feuer rettet. Dann Äpfel, Kartoffeln und Zwiebeln. Das Herz von Rudi. Die Herzen von Hans und Rosa Hubermann. Das Herz von Max. Und das des Todes. Denn selbst der Tod hat ein Herz. „Die Bücherdiebin“ ist eine Liebesgeschichte, eine Hommage an Bücher und Worte und eine Erinnerung an die Macht der Sprache, die im Roman von Markus Zusak viele Facetten zeigt: den lakonisch-distanzierten Ton des Erzählers, Poesie und Zuversicht – und die reduzierte Sprache der Nazipropaganda.

Reel America and World War I

A Comprehensive Filmography and History of Motion Pictures in the United States, 1914-1920

Author: Craig W. Campbell

Publisher: McFarland & Company

ISBN: N.A

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 303

View: 4417

DOWNLOAD NOW »

PATHWAY TO DESTRUCTION

Author: William Potter

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781463442347

Category: Fiction

Page: 236

View: 8945

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the waning days of the twenty-first century, man commits the ultimate atrocity. Nuclear winter! However, as in any holocaust, there are always survivors. Those who survived the rain of nuclear fire used the, now highly efficient space shuttle system to evacuate a now rapidly dying planet, to settle and colonize some of the outer planets and moons. Then, some nine hundred years later, the age old bid for absolute power starts allover again. Sean Thorn, son of a farming family located on Jupiter lunar four was educated at a university on Mars, and was employed as radio communications director at the J-4 spaceport. The Thorn family viewed the off-world war as none of their concern. However, when his entire family is killed in an air raid by the alliance, Sean becomes a, dedicated, merciless killing machine bent on revenge, and forming a gorilla band, he sets out to do just that. Ann Stone, also educated on Mars, worked with her father for a mining company on Jupiter-lunar one. When her whole family was killed by the alliance, she took up arms. Half alien, half human, she had none of the typical, sentimental, human hang-ups about killing, and became an extremely efficient killing machine. Fore some time, she and her followers wage a slowly loosing battle with the alliance. The opportunity presents its self to steel a long-range shuttle, and seek help from the newly formed colonist military. Unfortunately, before she is out of pulsar range, her ship is hit and she is forced to crash-land on Sean’s home moon, J-4. Thrown together by circumstances, amidst the horror of war and devastation, love begins to blossom. They are involved in many life threatening skirmishes, but in spite of that, they are married and while on their honeymoon, they are captured and tortured by the enemy. However, they manage a daring escape during a battle between colonial forces and the ship they are imprisoned on. The eastern alliance with years of combat training, slowly push the ill-trained colonels to the edge of the solar system, and beyond. Forced to flee the alliance tyranny, the colonials set coarse for the far off star cluster of Alfa Centauri. In route, they have their first encounter with as alien craft. After five or so years in deep space, the refugees arrive at their destination, the star system of Alpha Centauri. As time passes, and the colony becomes well established, Sean decides to explore their new world. He finds a fully intact, derelict, alien ship. After years of study, reverse engineering, and the help of alien technology derived from the derelict spacecraft, they are able to return and reclaim their heritage.

Ich bin Malala

Das Mädchen, das die Taliban erschießen wollten, weil es für das Recht auf Bildung kämpft

Author: Malala Yousafzai

Publisher: Droemer eBook

ISBN: 3426424231

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 925

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Am 9. Oktober 2012 wird die junge Pakistanerin Malala Yousafzai auf ihrem Schulweg überfallen und niedergeschossen. Die Fünfzehnjährige hatte sich den Taliban widersetzt, die Mädchen verbieten, zur Schule zu gehen. Wie durch ein Wunder kommt Malala mit dem Leben davon. Als im Herbst 2013 ihr Buch "Ich bin Malala" erscheint, ist die Resonanz enorm: Weltweit wird über ihr Schicksal berichtet. Im Juli 2013 hält sie eine beeindruckende Rede vor den Vereinten Nationen. Barack Obama empfängt sie im Weißen Haus, und im Dezember erhält sie den Sacharow-Preis für geistige Freiheit, verliehen vom Europäischen Parlament. Malala Yousafzai lebt heute mit ihrer Familie in England, wo sie wieder zur Schule geht. Malala Yousafzai wird mit dem Friedensnobelpreis 2014 ausgezeichnet. »Dieses Memoir unterstreicht ihre besten Eigenschaften. Ihren Mut und ihre Entschlossenheit kann man nur bewundern. Ihr Hunger nach Bildung und Neugestaltung ist authentisch. Sie wirkt so unschuldig, und da ist diese unverwüstliche Zuversicht. Sie spricht mit einem solchen Gewicht, dass man vergisst, dass Malala erst 16 ist.« The Times »Niemand hat das Recht auf Bildung so knapp, so einprägsam und überzeugend zusammengefasst wie Malala Yousafzai, die tapferste Schülerin der Welt.« Berliner Zeitung »Der mutigste Teenager der Welt« Bild »Bewegend erzählt Malala Yousafzai ihr Schicksal.« Brigitte

A Complete Concordance to the Old and New Testament

Or, A Dictionary and Alphabetical Index to the Bible ... : to which is Added, a Concordance to the Apocrypha; with a Compendium of the Bible and a Brief Account of Its History and Excellency

Author: Alexander Cruden

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bible

Page: 719

View: 425

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Our Women in the War."

The Lives They Lived; the Deaths They Died. From the Weekly News Ad Courier, Charleston, S.C. ...

Author: News and Courier, Charleston, S.C.

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Confederate States of America

Page: 482

View: 3774

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Der totale Rausch

Drogen im Dritten Reich

Author: Norman Ohler

Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch

ISBN: 346231517X

Category: Social Science

Page: 368

View: 3343

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Drogen im Dritten Reich – »dieses Buch ändert das Gesamtbild« (Hans Mommsen) Über Drogen im Dritten Reich ist bislang wenig bekannt. Norman Ohler geht den Tätern von damals buchstäblich unter die Haut und schaut direkt in ihre Blutbahnen hinein. Arisch rein ging es darin nicht zu, sondern chemisch deutsch – und ziemlich toxisch. Wo die Ideologie für Fanatismus und »Endsieg« nicht mehr ausreichte, wurde hemmungslos nachgeholfen, während man offiziell eine strikte Politik der »Rauschgiftbekämpfung« betrieb. Als Deutschland 1940 Frankreich überfiel, standen die Soldaten der Wehrmacht unter 35 Millionen Dosierungen Pervitin. Das Präparat – heute als Crystal Meth bekannt – war damals in jeder Apotheke erhältlich, machte den Blitzkrieg erst möglich und wurde zur Volksdroge im NS-Staat. Auch der vermeintliche Abstinenzler Hitler griff gerne zur pharmakologischen Stimulanz: Als er im Winter 1944 seine letzte Offensive befehligte, kannte er längst keine nüchternen Tage mehr. Schier pausenlos erhielt er von seinem Leibarzt Theo Morell verschiedenste Dopingmittel, dubiose Hormonpräparate und auch harte Drogen gespritzt. Nur so konnte der Diktator seinen Wahn bis zum Schluss aufrechterhalten. Ohler hat bislang gesperrte Materialien ausgewertet, mit Zeitzeugen, Militärhistorikern und Medizinern gesprochen. Entstanden ist ein erschütterndes, faktengenaues Buch. Der totale Rausch wurde von dem bedeutenden Historiker Hans Mommsen begleitet, der das Nachwort beisteuert. Sein Fazit: »Dieses Buch ändert das Gesamtbild.«