A Band of Steel

A family threatened by war but destroyed by love...

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755383826

Category: Fiction

Page: 401

View: 6973

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When the war forces a Jewish family to flee their home, they must find the strength to survive. A Band of Steel is a moving and compelling wartime saga from Rosie Goodwin, author of Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel and the Kindle No 1. bestselling saga No One's Girl. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Nadine Dorries. 'A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade' - Northern Echo When Adina and her family are forced to flee Cologne to escape the vicious menace of Nazi Germany in 1938, leaving their luxurious lifestyle is painful. Harder still is finding herself a refugee in a foreign country. But Adina is a compassionate and determined girl and as they settle into a new life in the Midlands she finds the strength to survive. However, her brother and sister aren't so lucky and their family ties are stretched to breaking point. And then Adina runs the risk of losing her family forever when she is drawn towards the one man she should never fall in love with... What Amazon readers are saying about A Band of Steel: 'I was hooked from the very first page. The personalities of the main characters were very credible and the story flowed very well. It was easy to follow without being predictable and I couldn't wait for the next opportunity to pick up the book. Would thoroughly recommend - buy it now!' 'Fantastic book, couldn't put it down. Gripped by the characters, the story, the setting. I haven't read a book that entertained me so much in a long while and I would highly recommend'

Hollywood War Films, 1937_1945

An Exhaustive Filmography of American Feature-Length Motion Pictures Relating to World War II

Author: Michael S. Shull,David Edward Wilt

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786428546

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 488

View: 8846

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From 1937 through 1945, Hollywood produced over 1,000 films relating to the war. This enormous and exhaustive reference work first analyzes the war films as sociopolitical documents. Part one, entitled "The Crisis Abroad, 1937-1941," focuses on movies that reflected America's increasing uneasiness. Part two, "Waging War, 1942-1945," reveals that many movies made from 1942 through 1945 included at least some allusion to World War II.

Britannica Book of the Year 2012

Author: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.

Publisher: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc.

ISBN: 1615356185

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 882

View: 6084

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Britannica Book of the Year 2012 provides a valuable viewpoint of the people and events that shaped the year and serves as a great reference source for the latest news on the ever changing populations, governments, and economies throughout the world. It is an accurate and comprehensive reference that you will reach for again and again.

"Our Women in the War."

The Lives They Lived; the Deaths They Died. From the Weekly News Ad Courier, Charleston, S.C. ...

Author: News and Courier, Charleston, S.C.

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Confederate States of America

Page: 482

View: 4601

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Complete Concordance to the Old and New Testament

Or, A Dictionary and Alphabetical Index to the Bible ... : to which is Added, a Concordance to the Apocrypha; with a Compendium of the Bible and a Brief Account of Its History and Excellency

Author: Alexander Cruden

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bible

Page: 719

View: 2767

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Reel America and World War I

A Comprehensive Filmography and History of Motion Pictures in the United States, 1914-1920

Author: Craig W. Campbell

Publisher: McFarland & Company

ISBN: N.A

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 303

View: 4293

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Congressional Record

Proceedings and Debates of the ... Congress

Author: United States. Congress

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law

Page: N.A

View: 1376

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873. Debates for sessions prior to 1873 are recorded in The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873)

Civil wars

women and the crisis of Southern nationalism

Author: George C. Rable

Publisher: Univ of Illinois Pr

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 391

View: 6118

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A full-length study of white women during the Civil War .

Cue

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: New York (N.Y.)

Page: N.A

View: 5161

DOWNLOAD NOW »